General KnowledgeQuestion Answer

List of How many states are there in India as of 2024?

let's look at India is divided into how many states as per the recent data, let's find out How many states are there in India as of 2024.

Hello friends, let’s look at India is divided into how many states as per the recent data, and understand the recent issues and updates regarding this matter. so first let’s find out How many states are there in India as of 2024.

India, the world’s largest democracy, is notable for its system of government, which includes states and central territories. According to the latest information, India has 28 states and 8 union territories, each of which plays an important role in the governance and development of the country.

here’s a list of 28 States, their capitals, and 8 Union Territories

S.N.Statestheir capital
1.Andhra PradeshAmaravati
2.Arunachal PradeshItanagar
9.Himachal PradeshShimla

How many states are there in India as of 2024

S.N.Statestheir capital
13.Madhya PradeshBhopal

Also Read: How to Order Online Free Ram Mandir First Day Prasad from Khadi Organic

S.N.Statestheir capital
23.Tamil NaduChennai
26.Uttar PradeshLucknow
27.UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)Gairsain (Summer)
28.West BengalKolkata

8 Union Territories with their capitals

S.N.Union Territoriestheir capital
2.Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
3.Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
4.DelhiNew Delhi
5.Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)Jammu (Winter)

RECENT CHANGES: Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh

A historic event in 2019 reshaped the map of India when the special status of J&K was abolished and reorganized into two separate central states – J&K and Ladakh to further integrate the region with the rest of the country, a development It should also encourage economic growth.

Looking Over India’s States: How many states are there in India as of 2024?

Representation in the Parliament

Population determines the number of seats allotted to each state and union territory in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Parliament of India. This ensures equal representation and reflects the federation of Indian democracy. Additionally, the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of government, provides representation to the states, ensuring a balance between population-based representation and equality of states

In conclusion

India’s federal structure, with its states and union territories, is a testament to the nation’s commitment to diversity and inclusive governance. As of 2024, the 28 states and 8 union territories continue to contribute to the multifaceted tapestry of India, each playing a distinct role in shaping the country’s destiny. Understanding the significance of this structure is essential for appreciating the complexity and resilience of India’s democratic system.

we hope you found this article helpful, for more such content stay tuned.

Archita Jain

Hello, this is Archita Jain . I am currently pursuing Bachelors in Journalism and Mass Communication. I have a huge interest in learning new things and craving out it's facts. I love presenting new article and knowledge in front of you'll.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button